The Myrick Wireless Interpretive Centre at Cape Race is a replica of the original Marconi Marine Radio Station built at the same location in 1904 at the invitation of the Canadian Government. It is named for the Myrick family who lived and worked at Cape Race from 1874 until 2007, serving as light keepers, fog alarm operators, telegraphers, and wireless operators.
The original Marconi Marine Radio Station had a range of 300-400 miles, and used the call letters MCE. The original building burned down twice—probably due to sparks from the generators—but it was quickly rebuilt both times. The replica building now houses artifacts and exhibits that interpret the history of early telegraphy and wireless radio in Newfoundland. The Myrick Centre is also the home of the Irish Loop Amateur Radio Club—call sign VO1 MCE.
The history of telegraphy and wireless radio in Newfoundland is a fascinating story of cutting edge technology in the early 20th century, the grit and determination of the early entrepreneurs in telecommunications and the dedication and professionalism of the men and women who worked as telegraphers and radio operators.
The sinking of the Titanic is one of the most memorable moments in Cape Race history. The Marconi station at the Cape was the first land station to answer Titanic’s distress call and helped to coordinate the rescue effort. A permanent Titanic Exhibit will be unveiled during the April 2012 Titanic Commemorative Events at Cape Race.
Visit www.receivingtitanic.com for details on the Titanic Commemorative Events at Cape Race.
Seasons Open: Open April to October from 10:00 A.M. to 6:00 P.M. daily.
Hours Open: Open to visitors April 9, 2012
Owned and operated by CAPE RACE-PCS HERITAGE INC. a local not-for-profit organization, comprised of a volunteer board of directors. Established in 1998, its mandate is to preserve, protect, develop, and promote the natural, historic and cultural resources of the area from Portugal Cove South to Cape Race, known as the Edge of Avalon Heritage Coast.