Imagine... it is 1829 and St. John's is alive with talk of Newfoundlanders having the same rights as every other Englishman—the right even to manage their own affairs through their own government.
Commissariat House was built between 1818–1820 as the home and offices of the Assistant Commissary General—the supply officer for British forces in Newfoundland. Today, a new, provocative, multi-media experience at the site recreates a volatile period in 19th-century St. John's: British naval rule is ending and a power struggle is at hand.
Hours Open: Daily from 10:00am to 5:30pm
Time Period Represented: 1820/30s
Seasons Open: Victoria Day weekend to Thanksgiving weekend
Visitor Fees: Adults and children 12+ - $3.00, Children under 12 - Free, Family Pass - $5.00